Allegiant – Veronica Roth (Divergent #3) [SPOILERS]

IF YOU HAVEN’T READ ANY OF THE DIVERGENT BOOKS OR ALLEGIANT PLEASE DO NOT READ THIS REVIEW, THERE WILL BE SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW.
One choice will define you.

What if your whole world was a lie?
What if a single revelation—like a single choice—changed everything?
What if love and loyalty made you do things you never expected?
The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.
But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.
 

Review 

Oh good god, so I finished Allegiant at like 12am last night and there were literally waterfalls coming out of my eyes. I mean I’m not surprised because Veronica Roth is usually doing that to me, but today there’S STILL PAIN. I’m also probably gonna go on a reading slump because of how good the ending was.
I really, really wanted to give this 5 out of 5 stars but but but I couldn’t. Also I don’t know if I will be able to contain myself in this review, therefore I apologise in advance for spoilers (if you haven’t read any of the books, then what are you doing man??????). I had some big issues with the first half of the book, but there were also times when I would doubt my rating on the novel because of how good that part was.
The whole two POV thing was pretty meh, to be honest. I would sometimes forget that I was reading from Four’s POV and forget whats happening and some of Four’s chapters were actually pretty boring and unnecessary. But the same thing was with Tris’ as well, like I’d get used to Four’s chapters and then when starting a new chapter I would forget who’s POV was since I was so used to reading from Tris’ POV.
I also felt a little bit uneasy with the “genetically pure” and “genetically damaged” people. I get that there was supposed to have been a reason for the “experiment cities” to function, but just because you’re genes are different from someone else’s, who’s genes are “pure” doesn’t really make you damaged. However, I love the message that this sends – Just because people have different genes it does not make them any better or worse.
I liked and and also didn’t like the way the trilogy ended. In a way I was expecting more from the whole book, not just the ending, because half of the book was boring and I was expecting so much more. I liked the beginning, it was fast paced however, I did wish the big reveal of what is behind the fence was more exciting than it was. I also feel like the book was a little bit political than the other two.
What really impressed me about this book was the character development of both Tris and Four. Tris has grown so much from the first book and you can see that by the brutal decisions she makes in this book. Four, in a way, was really interesting. Reading from his point of view was boring but also interesting because you get to see how he sees the Divergent world and his own issues with the “genetically damaged” genes and his reaction. I also really liked Christina in this book, since I found her annoying in the previous one. I liked watching her interact with Four in the epilogue, it was sweet.
Now onto the hard stuff, the ending…
I admire the way Veronica Roth concluded the trilogy, it was unexpected and emotional and so good. I did bawl my eyes out because that’s what you normally do when you’re so attached to a character, ya know. It was a little bit obvious that Tris would die since the next chapter is Tobias making peace with his mother and after that chapter you just know that something is gonna happen to Tris. And after that everything just literally came crashing down, Uriah dying, Four crying when he sees Tris, and most of all the scattering of the ashes. That part with the zip line, jesus christ, I was sobbing by then. It was such a good ending and when you start the book you don’t realise that a main character would die and the emotion, I just, I can’t even describe it. But since Uriah is not in the first film, does that mean they’re not doing the zip line scene? I really hope they just add that with like another character or something because that’s my fave scene in the first book.
But nevertheless with all the problems Allegiant has, it was a very, very good (emotional) book and I recommend you picking it up. And if you want to start Divergent but are unsure because of the low ratings on the last book, just do it. The first two books are the bomb, they’re fabulous.

One thought on “Allegiant – Veronica Roth (Divergent #3) [SPOILERS]

Leave a comment