Unravel Me – Tahereh Mafi (Shatter Me #2)

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

Buy: Amazon|BookDepository(international)

Review

I’m still trying to absorb everything that just happened in this book.

So many times in this book my heart broke then fell in love and then broke again. THE FEELS FROM THIS BOOK OH GOD. First of all Tahereh Mafi has such a way with writing and describing some of the scenes, especially the ones that included Juliette’s diary which were so powerful and I loved every second of the book and I couldn’t put it down (after the first 100 pages or so).

The book begins with Juliette complaining again about her feelings again and blah blah blah, living in her own bubble and  it was super annoying to read after a while. I think most of the characters at the beginning were really annoying, especially Adam as he wasn’t telling Juliette about his power which made Juliette pissed and really annoying to read. The whole training with Kenji didn’t really seem interesting at all to read because of her mood and how annoying she was. So it took me a while to read the book as the beginning was slightly boring. I was only fully into it after Warner appeared and in the first book I really resented him, so that’s saying something.

Warner oh god. I really tried hating him and still be team Adam but I couldn’t, I really couldn’t. I was so infuriated with Adam as he was trying to protect and kind of cover Juliette all the time and Warner does the complete opposite, yes he tries to protect her as much as he can (aka the ending sob) but he challenges her regarding her powers and Adam is too afraid to challenge her which really makes Juliette kind of hide her true self from Adam and this just made me team Warner because of the way Juliette was feeling around him. Plus he isn’t the psychopath he is described to be in the first book and also chapter 62 was wow and then the ending just completely changed my prospective on him. ITS SO HARD TRYING NOT TO SPOIL ANYTHING OH MY GOD.

I loved the story progression of this book as it took the already brilliant start of Shatter Me to a new level and just kept adding and throwing things at you that were just so unexpected. There is no major fault to the plot, and the tiny little mistakes are probably just Juliette and Adam’s annoying relationship in the beginning but as soon as that is over, everything is perfect and the story is so enjoyable.

There is so much character development, starting with Juliette who is introduced as feeling sorry for herself and by the end of the book she is this super strong woman who is ready to face what comes her way, without her gloves. We see Warner’s vulnerable and soft side, who we knew all along as a cold, heartless villain. Adam becomes quite depressed and closed in this novel as he suffers a lot from everything that is happening around him. I still love Adam a whole lot but I started to really like Warner so I was really conflicted while reading Unravel Me. Kenji is literally my favourite character out of the whole trilogy. I love his diplomacy, wit and strength and he is such an amazing support character and also a really great friend to Adam and Juliette.

The series makes you feel every emotion possible, literally and I can’t recommend it enough. Its so beautifully written there’s no other words for it, Tahereh writing style is so poetic that sometimes I found myself pausing to admire how beautiful the words and phrases were, which never happened with other books. I really can’t describe how much I loved Unravel Me and how excited I am to finally begin Ignite Me!

signature

One thought on “Unravel Me – Tahereh Mafi (Shatter Me #2)

Leave a Reply

