Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi (Shatter Me #3)

11374155_106027699738304_53762378_n

Please don’t read this review if you don’t want to be spoiled!!

Juliette now knows she may be the only one who can stop the Reestablishment. But to take them down, she’ll need the help of the one person she never thought she could trust: Warner. And as they work together, Juliette will discover that everything she thought she knew – about Warner, her abilities, and even Adam – was wrong.

 Buy: Amazon|BookDepository (International)

After finishing this book I had a million things running inside of me, trying to escape. And it was probably because it took a while for me to process everything that just happened. And a lot did happen in Ignite Me. It was different from what I expected it to be like but in some ways all the same. I’m still in shock about everything to be honest. But here it is, I apologise in advance for any spoilers.

The Shatter Me trilogy for me isn’t really a dystopian novel because its not really about this world they live in but about Juliette and her personal journey. So when it ended, I wasn’t really surprised that the ending seemed like things were only just beginning. I did want more, like an epilogue of what happens in the next 5-10 years maybe because I really wanted to know what happened next with Warner and Juliette, but I was happy with how it ended overall.

Throughout the trilogy Juliette develops so much; going from crossing out what she wanted to say because she was afraid, to gradually not crossing out anything at all, in Ignite Me there are no cross outs and you get to gradually see that in Unravel Me too, and it was amazing seeing her change so much and become this really strong person. However, the whole change was a little bit sudden, and I can’t picture her leading, she’s doesn’t seem ready for that. The responsibility seems too big even for her, in my opinion.

Adam for me was a pain in this book, but I understood where he was coming from. Although there was no need to insult Juliette 24/7, I do get where he was coming from. You can’t fault him, he has a broken heart and a bruised ego and he was speaking out his mind. I really liked Shatter Me Adam opposed to Unravel Me and Ignite Me Adam. He was too arrogant in the second and third novel, not because the insults he was dishing out, but his actions towards everyone around him made me care less about his character.

Favourite part of this book? Every chapter Warner was in to be honest. I wasn’t really interested in the world and other characters as much as I was interested in Juliette and Warner and even in Unravel Me it was the same, I just wanted her to go back to Warner’s room and stay there and never come out. The first book and beginning of Unravel Me you see Warner as this cold and heartless monster (until you read Destroy me) and as I said before, I never though Warner would become my favourite character. In some of the scenes, when Juliette wants to help him with the cream for his back, I was really shocked about his vulnerability and how he was so scared of letting her see him like this and it just made me love Warner more, if that is possible. It was so wonderful seeing him laugh and smile and be happy. The super intimate scenes between Juliette and Warner were so goddamn hot, I can’t even begin to explain it. (Where can I buy the honeysuckle soaps?)

I also really enjoyed the relationship between Kenji and Juliette a lot, in this book you could actually feel their bond whereas in the previous ones you didn’t, it just felt strange reading about them two interacting. Whenever they were talking about Juliette’s love life it always ended with ‘whatever’ ‘I don’t know’ ‘we suck’ and it was so fun to read all of those scenes, I really liked their platonic relationship throughout the book. In this novel you get to see the angry and vulnerable side of Kenji which you don’t see in the first two books and it was really nice reading about him feeling like that. The best thing about him is that even when everyone was grieving he was still making jokes and trying to keep everyone together, it was really cute.

I’m a bit sad one of my favourite series has ended and I wont be able to read about Warner anymore, sigh. It so bittersweet when a really good trilogy/series ends. If you haven’t read any of the Shatter Me books, just…just pick it up today, right now, and start reading because you’ll fall in love with every character and every little detail of the world.

signature

2 thoughts on “Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi (Shatter Me #3)

Leave a Reply

