Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  Anna has everything figured out – she was about to start senior year with her best friend, she had a great weekend job, and her huge work crush looked as if it might finally be going somewhere… Until her dad decides to send her 4383 miles away to Paris. On her own.

But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna finds herself making new friends, including Etienne, the smart, beautiful boy from the floor above. But he’s taken – and Anna might be too. Will a year of romantic near-missed end with the French kiss she’s been waiting for?

5-stars

Buy: Amazon|BookDepository (International)

Review

I JUST WANT TO READ MORE YA CONTEMPORARY FROM NOW ON. OH GOD. This book, jesusssssss, this book. This is one of the cutest books I’ve read in a long time and it was so enjoyable. It has everything, humour, romance, a likeable protagonist and a super cute guy called Etienne St. Clair and even the his name makes your fall in love with him and he is nothing like the english guys I know. Anna and the French Kiss was a cute book and I really, really loved it and I really, really recommend it if you’re in the mood for some cute contemporary!

Anna is a simple teenage girl who is being shipped off to an American boarding school in Paris; SOAP. She later finds that moving to France wasn’t such a bad thing; she makes new friends, meets a really cute guy, finds out that there are about 100 cinemas around her so she starts liking Paris. Anna is very relatable to most female readers, at this point in her life all she wants to do is hang out with her friends, have a boyfriend and go to prom – and go to college eventually. My favourite thing about Anna, and that made her even more relatable to me, was that she was interested in the film industry and that she was going to the cinema about 10 times a week, even by herself. I’m a big fan of new and challenging characters, but Anna’s familiarity made her more likeable and relatable.

In addition, there’s Etienne St. Clair who is so damn sexy! It was really refreshing and great to finally read about a male interest that wasn’t a douche. The accent thing really didn’t work for me since I live in England so I was immune to it during the whole read of the book, and it make Etienne more interesting as I wasn’t into the accent.

I completely understand why everyone loves this book, its not a really special novel, I mean it has its bad parts but it was nothing new, all contemporaries are the same to me so I wasn’t really surprised with where Anna and Etienne’s relationship was going and how it was unfolding. Its a pleasant read, its not challenging or anything so it was a delightful experience, there are some problems during the novel but everything gets figured out everything ends happily. 

This is the first Stephanie Perkins book I’ve read but its definately not the last, they’re so addictive. And I will be reading Lola and the Boy Next Door very soon!

signature

2 thoughts on “Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

