Fallen by Lauren Kate (Fallen #1)

 There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce – he goes out of his way to make that very clear. But she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, Luce has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret…even if it kills her.

3 stars

Buy: Amazon|BookDepository (International)

Review

This book is slightly tricky to review since I enjoyed it but I didn’t really like it at the same time. I had no idea what the book will be about or what kind of book it was until I started reading it. And the slow reveal made the book enjoyable up to the point where everything unfolds. On the other hand, the characters really bore me, the ‘instalove’ was annoying, as well as the love triangle. So when it came to rating the book? I was torn, do I give it a 3/5 because it had terrible characters and no increase in story line, or 4/5 because I enjoyed it? I decided with a 3.5 more of a 3 out of 5 since nothing really surprised me about the book.

The main characters, Lucinda Price, aka Luce, hasn’t had the easiest childhoods. She began seeing dark shadows at a very young age so her parents have been dragging her to different psychiatrists and psychologists hoping for answers. One night at a beach party, the boy Luce was with dies and everyone wonders what Luce had to do with is. So she’s sent to a reform school called Sword & Cross in Georgia. This place has its own church and cemetery, the students are either strange or crazy. Within her first day she makes friends, meets two guys but she’s drawn more to Daniel who seems very familiar to her.

The characters don’t stand out at all, apart from Arriane and Penn who have sort of some character development, although it was lacking. Luce’s character is downright annoying and her character development stayed flat never rising or decreasing and this goes for all of the characters. The main love interest, Daniel, was really boring and basically he was a douche. For whatever his reasons were, he was a douche, if you read the book you’d know what I mean.

The story line was flat, at one point I had to put the book down to process the location as I thought it was set in England due to the vague descriptions until she mentions Georgia and Florida and I finally understand where this is set. Some of the descriptions were even more vaguer and not enough to make you picture the place at all. In addition it was really hard getting into the story at first since the beginning is very dull and slow. I just don’t see where the series is even going, I’m not even sure if I’m going to pick up the next book. I cringed so much in this book, chapter after chapter and I don’t know how I managed to even finish the novel. The story is very predicable after the first half of the book and so are the characters so I wasn’t surprised when problems started to appear.

Overall the book was enjoyable and I only read on to figure out, for myself, what was happening as things didn’t even make sense. I don’t really recommend reading Fallen, maybe if you’re 14/15 and you’ve just finished Twilight, then maybe but if you’re older I suggest not even going anywhere near this book.

signature

Leave a Reply

