Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

 Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper’s destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.

Just when life can’t get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she’s charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper’s least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him–and discovers that David’s own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.

With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y’all beg for more.

5-stars

Buy: Amazon|BookDepository (International)

  I had so much fun reading this, it was pure entertainment. I’ve been seeing nothing but good things so I decided to finally pick it up and it was quite exceptional! It was a light fun read with really interesting characters and plot. I think my favourite thing about this book was Harper’s narrative, it was just so witty and sarcastic and funny.

Harper is the definition of perfection at her high school, with a 4.0 GPA, popular and the perfect boyfriend, student body president and so much more, she finds herself in the bathroom at her prom with the school’s janitor kissing her and giving her these magical powers. She is then told she needs to save the one person who she doesn’t get on with at school.

I think one of the many issues people have with this book is how vain the main character is but personally I didn’t think Harper was once vain or overly into herself. She is aware of her social status but in her monologue you can see that she never takes that for granted or acts upon it, which was refreshing since most books that include high school characters nearly always make the main character a nobody and or the person that is always made fun of by the ‘popular’ kids.

Another thing that I really liked about this novel was the love triangle wasn’t as annoying as say for example Twilight or City of Bones, I liked how she handled it when she started having feelings for David, even though she was already in a relationship. I really enjoyed all the banter between Harper and David and the history they had since kindergarten and as I was reading about the kindergarten scenes I stared to really like David and I didn’t mind the love triangle as I usually do with other books. The snarky articles David wrote about her in the school’s newspaper, the banter between them started to make sense after they started hanging out more and I started to care less about Harper’s boyfriend and how he would feel since I would always be like “But wait she already has a boyfriend?”

I don’t think there was anything bad with the story, except that in some chapters I would be so excited about what I thought will happen and then it didn’t happen, sure that is part of the surprise… but I was slightly disappointed in some chapters that something more exciting didn’t happen.

Nevertheless the book is really fun, quirky and action packed read. I loved the southern setting and I felt like all the characters were so well written and I can’t wait for book two! signature

3 thoughts on “Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

  1. HOLLY says:

    I’ve been debating whether or not I should read this book for a while, so it’s nice to see that someone really liked it! Great review! 🙂

Leave a Reply

