The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

14733676_1604816216486843_3028678072325898240_nFate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.

4-stars

I must admit, I am kinda conflicted on how to rate and review this book, I loved it but at the same time I had some problems that affected my reading experience. Nevertheless, it was such a beauty! I absolutely adore Chokshi’s writing style and look forward to the next book in this universe. Inspired by Indian folklore and Greek mythology, The Star-Touched queen is such a captivating story with amazing detail and vivid imagery.

Our main character Maya is cursed with a horoscope upon birth that promises a marriage of death and destruction. The seventeen-year old princess is feared by the people in her father’s kingdom. On a journey to find herself, she is met with lies, betrayals, deceptions, and the revelation of who she really is and what purpose she plays in this world.

I adored this book, words cannot describe how much I loved the story and characters. The character development is phenomenal and I truly felt a connection with these characters. Although she is feared and pushed aside, Maya doesn’t let the people of her father’s kingdom dissuade her form seeking happiness. She’s an introvert and as the story progresses she comes out of her shell and its such a beautiful thing to see. She goes from pushing people away and wanting to be left alone, to risking her life for the people she has grown to love.

I absolutely loved her relationship with her younger sister, Gauri. Gauri is the only person she cares about before leaving home, and even after leaving she is constantly thinking about who is chasing her bad dreams away, as she used to read bedtime stories to her.

Another thing that is absolutely captivating is the love story throughout this novel. Chokshi has such a way with words, I felt everything. The writing is so beautiful and mesmerising, it made the romance in the story even more beautiful. Romance plays a big part of the story, and it brings me such joy to read something that doesn’t include a love triangle.

Roshani Chokshi has become one of my favourite authors, the way she created this wonderful, complex world blew me away. There was so much detail that sometimes I would get lost in the story and play it out like a movie.

However I did have a small problem, because so much information was being thrown at me about the world, the characters, I sometimes wandered off the page and zoned out. That was my only issue, I am however looking forward to the next book in this universe – about Gauri!

I honestly loved this wonderful book so much and I cannot recommend it enough if you’re a fantasy lover!

signature

Leave a Reply

