Book Series I Want (and need) To Read This Year!

series

A couple of weeks ago I saw someone on YouTube do a video about the series they want to finish in 2017 and I looked at my shelves and felt incredibly intimidated and embarrassed. I have so many series that I’ve either only read the first book or not read the last book. Since I mostly read fantasy series, I thought this would be the perfect time to reevaluate and prioritise the books I need to get to. Without further ado, here are some books. (pls dont hate me for not reading some of these 😦 )Β 

Lets start with the most shameful one, The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. I KNOW I KNOW, I should have read these when I was like 12 bUT I didn’t. I read the first book back in 2013? 2014? and I just didn’t continue reading the rest of them, don’t ask me – I have no idea. Im stoooopid. But soon, I shall read these. Soon.

percy jackson.jpg

Another series is Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier.Β I remember how much I loved the first two books but I never picked up Emerald Green, the last book in this trilogy. I think I never picked up Emerald Green because the size intimidated me, I finished both Ruby Red and Sapphire Blue in a day. I have reviews for Ruby Red and Sapphire Blue if you wanna check them out!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Next we have The Winner’s Curse Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski aka one of my favourite trilogies ever. I was pretty much obsessed with these books when the first one came out, yet I haven’t managed to read the last book, The Winner’s Kiss. I am pretty upset with myself that I never managed to pick it up, its been out for a year now ??? Also can we talk about how pretty these covers are?

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Another first book which I loved was The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater, yet I never continued reading the rest of the books. I read The Raven Boys back in 2013 before the sequel, The Dream Thieves came out and its so strange because I even had it pre-ordered but I didn’t pick it up once I had the book. I also have no idea where my copy of The Raven Boys is, I must have misplaced it during a move (if you were wondering why its not pictured). I am actually pretty excited to continue with this series. I do have a review of The Raven Boys if you want to read it!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I read Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo in 2014 I believe, and I absolutely loved it. It was one of those books you read in a day and you’re totally hooked. Yet I never continued reading the remaining two books. I’ve heard that this trilogy gets so much better after the first book so I am surprised I didn’t read it.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

And last but not least, we have the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. I don’t even know where to start. I read the first book in 2015 I believe and I remember how much I loved it but I don’t actually remember what happened. These books are huge and that’s probably the reason I never continued reading.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Those were the series I’m planning on finishing this year! Have you got any series you want to finish this year?

Free Delivery on all Books at Book Depository

2 thoughts on “Book Series I Want (and need) To Read This Year!

  1. happycomesfirst says:

    I haven’t read the Percy Jackson series either – hi5 to us! xD OMG FINISH THE GRISHA TRILOGY, I NEED TO KNOW YOUR THOUGHTS! I loved it so much but most people didn’t like the ending </3 And the Throne of Glass series…I REALLY loved the first 2 but then the series kinda went downhill for me from there. I mean the writing gets better, but the characters…not so much xD

Leave a Reply

