Bookstagram Advice!

Bookstagram advice.png

Disclaimer: I don’t know everything about bookstagram, also this is my personal experience and everyone is different. Also I apologise if I offend anyone, that is not my goal oops.

What is bookstagram you ask? Well buckle up and get some popcorn because this is going to be a long(ish) post.

Some people post photos of their children, food, plants, travels, etc on instagram, and us bookworms post photos of books – bookstagram. ya get me

There is so much to talk about on this topic and I have no idea where to start. So I do apologise in advance if this is muddled up or makes little sense.

  1. Username
    Use something that describes you, I decided to use my name because I couldn’t think of anything else, its also catchy. Think of something that you are willing to stick to for a long time, something that in a years time you’re not gonna think ‘ew what was I thinking?’ Your name are what people will see first, so just take your time in coming up with something.
  2.  Followers
    One thing I must say is that you should no get obsessed with gaining followers. That is probably the worst thing you can do. If you love books, and just talking to people about books, followers are just a bonus. Sure its hella nice to get appreciation, but don’t be constantly doing giveaways just to gain followers because I for one dislike having my feed clogged up with giveaway photos. (been there done that, never again). In addition, shout outs are annoying and no one likes them, again don’t be one of those people. Your photos, reading preferences and personality will gain you friends, rather than followers.
  3. Photos/Aesthetic
    Do ya need a theme for your feed? NO. you do not. 
    This has literally been such a pain in my ass. I think I’ve had like 50 different themes so far and I’m still not pleased with my photos. This is what my feed has gone through. And now I’m going for a green aesthetic because summer is here and there are so many lovely plants around my house.screen-shot-2017-06-02-at-20-13-32.png
    Screen Shot 2017-06-02 at 19.04.50Screen Shot 2017-06-02 at 19.05.12Screen Shot 2017-06-02 at 19.05.23Screen Shot 2017-06-02 at 19.05.32Screen Shot 2017-06-02 at 19.05.44Screen Shot 2017-06-02 at 19.09.17
    There are so many people that post wonderful photos and sometimes I wonder if I should even post mine because they’re not as good. Don’t do this. Don’t compare your photos to someone else, you will hate yourself and all of your photos. And its not a nice headspace to be in. I’m still learning on not letting this get to me. Of course, people will follow you if you have a more aesthetically pleasing feed, thats just how bookstagram works.
  4. Photo Editing/Cameras
    I have used both a DSLR, iPhone and iPad and to be honest, i prefer using my phone to take photos. For the ones that have taken on my DSLR you can see how much better the quality and just overall photo is. Buuuuuut I am so lazy nowadays and I felt that getting my equipment ready and setting up the frame took too long and it kinda put me off taking photos. Nowadays I only use my phone, although I do wish to get back into taking photos on my DSLR. I know that some bookstagramers don’t edit their photos but I believe that it editing makes them look better. I enjoy editing my photos more than setting up and taking them oops. I think that editing brings more life to a photo. I also don’t edit my photos on my laptop, I prefer vsco cam because I have more control and I just like the options they have. Here are some of my examples.
    example 2.png
    Example one.png
    You really don’t have to edit the shit out of them, I use to go crazy with my photos and now I just prefer subtle editing. Its all personal preference.
  5. Props
    Use props, it really brings life to your photos. I, for one, I don’t use any fancy paper that I can place my photos on, but I do use plants, and candles. And loads of cups of tea. There are so many things that you can use in photos, I used vinyls a couple of times and they look pretty cool. Fairy lights will become your best friend. But it really doesn’t have to be expensive, for example origami is a good idea that i see in a lot of people’s photos.  Sometimes negative space works great and you don’t really need to add props.
    Screen Shot 2017-06-02 at 20.04.49
    Screen Shot 2017-06-02 at 20.08.49
  6. Just be yourself
    As cringe as that sounds, be yourself and you’ll make friends in no time! The bookstagram community is great and so acceptable, and so so so so friendly.

And as long as you’re having fun, then thats all that matters! And don’t forget to actually read lol. One thing I’ve learnt is that you don’t have to be constantly uploading images, there is such thing as a break, and its so nice to not be constantly on your phone and checking how many likes your latest post received (just talking from experience). Just enjoy it and don’t think of it as a job.

signature

2 thoughts on “Bookstagram Advice!

  1. Holly says:

    This is such a great post! I love your points about not focusing on followers or worrying about maintaining a specific theme– those kinds of things definitely make bookstagram feel like a chore, and no one wants that 🙂

Leave a Reply

